Everybody Tweets

I’m not sure I understand the appeal of using Twitter, but I really want to.

I’ve heard it’s a great tool for journalists and an emerging medium for people who want up-to-date local news at all times.

But how is it different than Facebook?

I’ve searched for some evidence of Twitter’s value. Here are a few of the things I have found:

Blogger Anne Adrian (Anne’s Spot) listed a few valuable social uses for Twitter, including the ability to get to know your colleagues better, to provide live updates from meetings, and to “keep your finger on the pulse.”

Blogger Darren Rowse (ProBlogger) wrote that Twitter helps him expand his blog’s audience, improve the quality of his blog, and allows him to connect with other bloggers.

Rowse provides some compelling ways to use Twitter as an interactive information-gathering tool. He suggests posting questions, asking for advice, and even polling audience members in order to tap into the vibe of his followers.

New media blogger Marshall Kirkpatrick (marshallk) really hit the nail on the head, though, regarding Twitter’s value for news reporters. Kirkpatrick reported that nearly half of his last several stories came from Twitter leads.

Kirkpatrick connects with his community through Twitter, which is a compelling enough reason for me to get involved. Please check me out on Twitter: Jencox416.


1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Everybody Tweets

  1. Thanks for linking to my blog. Twitter is so hard to understand. You have to try it with “friends” and followers.

    You may be interested in how people compare Twitter to email. I don’t think there’s much a comparison, but, for those who don’t use Twitter and don’t understand may ask that question.

    Auburn University President Gogue asked me and I asked my Twitter followers:

    Check out their answers http://blog.aafromaa.com/2009/02/email-vs-twitter.html

    Thanks again for the link.

Leave a Reply

