Fear and Loathing?

“I dropped the ball. I won’t drop it in Vegas, dude.”

Rob Curley, leaving his position as vice president of product development at Washingtonpost.com for another at the Las Vegas Sun.

I thought I’d begin with this quote, because it has meaning for me personally. It came from a Wall Street Journal article written as Rob Curley, self-proclaimed “Internet Nerd” prepared to depart Washingtonpost.com for the Las Vegas Sun.

Rob and I have interacted a couple of times throughout my time in the newsroom. We first met at the Naples Daily News, where we were both introduced to the staff at the same time. My welcome was warmer than his, but that’s probably because I wasn’t proposing anything new or scary.

Our second go-round came in Washington D.C., just a few weeks before this article was written. My husband, Jeremy, and I interned with Rob’s no. 2 man, Tim Richardson, to produce new media packages for The Loudoun Extra.

Rob seems remorseful about his errors in Washington D.C., though it may not have come through in the above quote. Still, his words speak volumes about the new media, hyperlocal takeover of newspapers: It’s all trial and error.

New media proponents are going to keep trying new things, and they’re going to keep failing. But, hopefully, they will have a few successes that will pave the way for a new era of journalism that we can all be a part of.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

